18 Mar 2014, 09:01
Generic-user-small

Bopamo Osaisai (1 post)

Hello!

I am very new to TDD and this great book. I am in the process of working out the exercises in CH 2.7. When I run the command:

make -f MakefileUnity.mk

I get the following output and associated error:

Linking BookCode_Unity_tests
ld: library not found for -lgcov
clang: error: linker command failed with exit code 1 (use -v to see invocation)
make: *** [BookCode_Unity_tests] Error 1

Thus far I know I am getting this error because Xcode now uses llvm and not gcc. However, I am not sure what the best approach is to resolving it. Can someone please help me with this? Thank you very much in advance!

Best regards,

Bo

23 May 2014, 21:02
Trekkie profile pic_pragsmall

toby carter (6 posts)

This response is probably too late for you, but it may help other people coming here for help. I know it certainly would have helped me out a few days ago ;)

As indicated above, recent versions of OSX use a new compiler called clang, and the gcc command is set up to use this instead. cheeky apple. It is possible to install gcc alongside it however. Both Homebrew & MacPorts offer packages, but I found that Homebrew seemed to get in some permanent loop whilst installing, so I ended up using MacPorts which you can install from http://www.macports.org/