11 Nov 2010, 10:40
Generic-user-small

Dr Ian Hocking (5 posts)

Hi there

I’m just starting out with Cocoa programming - love the book thus far. I’m new to Xcode but have programmed heavily in C about ten years ago.

I’m having a niggling issue, however. When I try to compile the ‘Text.app’ project after the addition of the first NotifyingClass instance, I get the following message in the log:

bq. 2010-11-10 21:10:50.868 TextApp[7940:a0f] Unknown class ‘NotifyingClass’, using ‘NSObject’ instead. Encountered in Interface Builder file at path /Users/ianuser/Documents/Programming/Beginning Mac Programming/Chapter 2 Your First Application/TextApp/build/Debug/TextApp.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/MainMenu.nib.

I’ve downloaded the sample code from the website and it runs fine. I’ve compared this project to my own closely, and both seem identical. But I’m still getting the above error! I could just use the sample code and proceed to the next chapter but I’d really like to figure out what’s causing this. Any ideas?

I’m running Xcode 1.2.4 (64 bit), IDE 1708.0, Core 1705.0, ToolSupport 1591.0

Best wishes

Ian

11 Nov 2010, 11:08
Generic-user-small

Tim Isted (105 posts)

Hi Ian,

Are the two files @NotifyingClass.h@ and @NotifyingClass.m@ definitely in the project’s Groups & Files list, and both saved? And is the @NotifyingClass@ classname spelled the same in both the header file and the Interface Builder xib file?

If you right-click (or Ctrl-click) on the @RootViewController.m@ file in the Groups & Files list and choose Get Info, then click the Targets tab, is there are tick in the checkbox next to TextApp? If not, tick the box. It’s possible that this got unticked somehow (it also appears in the main project window in some panel configurations), which would mean that although the file is kept organized by the project, it’s not compiled for or included in the final TextApp executable.