17 Jul 2009, 17:24
Generic-user-small

bil (2 posts)

i’m new to objc and coding for mac/iphone in general, so please forgive, yet entertain, a totally noob question…

i noticed in the mapkit video and source files, that you follow the pattern of:

declaring instance variables in the interface with an underscore, e.g.:

MKMapView *_mapView;

then, you assign the property without the underscore, e.g.:

@property (nonatomic, retain) IBOutlet MKMapView *mapview;

and then synthesize with an assignment, e.g.:

@synthesize mapView = _mapView;

later in the code, you refer/use/test both flavors of the _ and non _ variables.

i can not find any relevant info or clues to why you might be doing this and am left wondering. what advantages or reasons are there to doing it in this way… or am i missing something entirely due to being so new to this? unfortunately, for as helpful as they were, your objc vids didn’t cover anything in this area.

keep up the great work, and thanks!

26 Jul 2009, 12:03
Randy_pragsmall

codiac (4 posts)

I have the same question. Can you please explain this use of ‘_mapView’ and ‘mapView’, etc. ? Thank you.

28 Jul 2009, 17:50
Biopic_100x100_pragsmall

Bill Dudney (917 posts)

Hi All,

Sorry to be so late in responding I’ve been traveling for 11 days with limited net access.

This is a way to distinguish between using the get/set method pair an using the instance variable. In the .h file we declare the ivar as MKMapView *_mapView; and the property with @property (nonatomic, retain) IBOutlet MKMapView *mapView;

That property declaration means that if we use the set method that we should expect the argument will be retained by the receiver. In other words, when we exectute this line of code;

[vc setMapView:aView];

The ‘vc’ will retain ‘aView’.

A property does nothing more than give us the get/set method pair.

So when we use the property notation vc.mapView = aView; the set method is actually being invoked.