25 Jan 2012, 16:22
Generic-user-small

Bill Nalen (13 posts)

I’m a software developer as I think the author is too. As such I have a bunch of todo items in our bug tracker at work. On top of that I have a bunch of work items that aren’t bugs and a bunch of personal items. I’m just starting the technique after reading the book and I’m setting up my activity inventory sheet. Obviously I want to put my personal todo items and work non-bug items on the list.

I think I read that these should be items that I expect to work on in the near future. So, is there another list that I should keep someday type items on? The author says he keeps about 25-30 items on the activity inventory. If I do a brain dump of everything on my todo list, that might be 100 items.

Also, regarding the bug tracker. Do I copy the next 2 weeks or so of bugs on to my activity inventory? Do I just make one note on the activity inventory to go look at the bug log? For instance I have to update about 30 pages in our web application. That’s about 30 pomodori worth of work which I can break down to about 1 or 2 per page. Do I list all 30 pages on the activity inventory and pick a few per day to move to the Today sheet? Do I keep all the in bug tracker as one item and pull a few to the Today sheet everyday?

I guess my question is for developers who have a shared bug/issue list already, how do you integrate that with the activity inventory?

26 Jan 2012, 08:10
Staffan_pragsmall

Staffan Nöteberg (8 posts)

Hi Bill,

Thanks for your feedback.