04 May 2011, 06:40
Me1_pragsmall

Vladimir Kelman (15 posts)

I’m installing Node and CoffeeScript on LinuxMint 10 machine (working under VMware virtual machine). Totally new to Linux, unfortunately.

I successfully went through the steps of Chapter 1.1. “$ node -v”, “$ npm -v”, and “$ coffee -v” return meaningful values. Where I got an issue is with adding node_modules subdirectory to NODE_PATH.

”$ npm ls -g” on my machine returns “/home/vkelman/local/lib”. So I then typed the following: “$ export NODE_PATH=/home/vkelman/local/lib/node_modules”. Is it what I was supposed to do? (Again, I’m new to Linux.) Or should I run some command which included “~/.profile”? Anyway, “> require(‘coffee-script’)” returns “Error: Cannot find module ‘coffee-script’”.

What did I do wrong?

By the way, LinuxMint has some graphical windows-like system, including an analog of Windows Explorer. So I looked at “/home/vkelman/local/lib/node_modules” folder and it indeed includes “coffee-script” subfolder. It is here but I didn’t set NODE_PATH properly.

04 May 2011, 16:07
Mymugshot_pragsmall

Chad Reynoldson (2 posts)

I had a similar situation with my mac (and I too am somewhat of a newbie to mac). I found the env command, which showed me that NODE_PATH was not getting set, even though I had added it to the .profile file as instructed. In my case, I’m using the zsh shell and I ended up editing the .zshrc file instead (vim /~.zshrc).

I’ve still not convinced myself that this is the best place to put it because if I use something other than zsh, it will fail again.

Hope this helps. I ended up learning a lot about the zsh shell, vim, and environment variables in my long search to make it work, so all is not a loss.

04 May 2011, 16:11
Hipstasmile_pragsmall

Leroy Campbell (3 posts)

You’ll want to add the line @export NODE_PATH=/home/vkelman/local/lib/node_modules@ to the file @~/.profile@. That way, you won’t need to set NODE_PATH every time you launch your terminal.