23 Aug 2012, 02:48
Ds_2009_mpark_pragsmall

Daniel Sauter (47 posts)

Hi, welcome to the forum for Rapid Android Development: Build Rich, Sensor-Based Applications with Processing. I’m looking forward to your feedback!

Feel free to add a new topic concerning a particular chapter or topic. I’ll try to answer your questions and respond to your comments, if I can.

If you find an issue or would like to submit a correction, please post it to the erraga page:http://pragprog.com/titles/dsproc/errata

If you are using the Ketai library and expand your code beyond the demos in this book, and encounter an issue there, please post it to the issue forum Google Code:https://code.google.com/p/ketai/issues/list

Happy posting…

23 Aug 2012, 13:09
Sausheong_01_small_pragsmall

Chang Sau Sheong (1 post)

Hi I just bought the book, looks great so far! I’m not a Processing developer nor an Android developer but have been programming on various platforms for quite a while. I think Processing on Android is very promising!

Wanted to ask a question – in your book, you mentioned that Android 4 ICS is needed and newer versions are also ok. However on the http://wiki.processing.org/w/Android#Instructions site, it is mentioned that only Android 2.3.3 is supported without any mention of ICS?

01 Sep 2012, 19:34
Ds_2009_mpark_pragsmall

Daniel Sauter (47 posts)

Hi Chang, the Processing Wiki states the minimum Android requirements for the Android Mode in Processing to work properly. You can use ICS with Processing 2.0 Android Mode, no problem.

The reason for the book and the Ketai library to require ICS is that it uses advanced features brought introduced in ICS, such as NFC Beam, but also an updated approach to using the device camera, face recognition, etc. I hope this explains the different minimum requirements.

Best, Daniel

10 Sep 2012, 03:45
2011-12-01 20.55.55_pragsmall

Scott Little (1 post)

Hi Daniel,