30 Sep 2012, 23:31
Generic-user-small

Ken Rincon (3 posts)

I’m rather new to Android and Processing. Let me know if anyone can help me build and run the Gestures example. Thanks!

When I run the Gestures example it throws: FATAL EXCEPTION: main java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: processing.core.PApplet.registerMouseEvent

The error goes away when you comment the line: gesture = new KetaiGesture(this); //(7)

Of course that causes other problems.

Ketai requires 4.0, according to http://forum.processing.org/topic/ketai-v7-released. I suspect Processing is not using the 4.0.

I followed the instructions at http://wiki.processing.org/w/Android#Instructions. That’s the page you suggest in the section Install the Android SDK “Step 2”.

Processing version: 2.0b3.

Ketai: v7.

I tried running on a Google Nexus 7, which I bought because it was tested in the book, and because it’s a nice tablet. The same error occurs on the emulator.

The initial notes for the build:

Android SDK Tools Revision 20 Installed at /Users/kenrincon/android-sdks Project Type: Application Project Target: Android 2.3.3 API level: 10 Library dependencies: No Libraries —————— API<=15: Adding annotations.jar to the classpath. …

Host is OS X 10.7.5.

03 Oct 2012, 20:39
Generic-user-small

Anders Bolinder (1 post)

whats your version of android mine is 4.0.4 and i get the same error as you.

05 Oct 2012, 14:15
Ds_2009_mpark_pragsmall

Daniel Sauter (47 posts)

Hi there, in Processing 2.0 Beta, the way Processing registers mouse event is under construction so is keyboard events.

If you use Processing 2.0 Alpha 9 instead, for instance it will work.

We will release a Ketai library v8 Beta this weekend to this exact gestures issue when you are working with Processing 2.0 Beta 3.