29 Oct 2007, 04:59
Generic-user-small

Peter Miller (4 posts)

I’m new to Erlang and learning about it by reading through “Programming Erlang” (thank you Joe Armstrong for this excellent book). I just finished chapter 8 and was mulling over the first of the programming exercises from section 8.11:

bq. Write a function start(AnAtom, Fun) to register AnAtomas spawn(Fun). Make sure your program works correctly in the case when two parallel processes simultaneously evaluate start/2. In this case, you must guarantee that one of these processes succeeds and the other fails.

I was stumped at first, but then I found the following discussion post, “Programming Erlang Exercise 8.11”:http://www.nabble.com/Programming-Erlang-Exercise-8.11-tf4485540.html#a12791301 , which presented a seemingly logical solution.

The solution in that thread did raise 2 interesting questions for me that I wanted to throw out to any experienced Erlang programmers:

1. How is the BIF register/2 function implemented to be an atomic call? I looked in the Erlang documentation online and could not find any details. As a BIF it is implemented in C, so I suppose there a lot of possibilities, but is there any way for a curious person to find out?

2. Is this problem of multiple processes trying to call register/2 at the same time something that you (experienced with Erlang) run into a lot and have to code around or is this problem more theoretical?

10 Dec 2007, 03:23
Alain_o_dea_pragsmall

Alain O'Dea (41 posts)

I am new to Erlang as well and this problem had me so stumped that I nearly abandoned the book altogether. Years of using Object-oriented programming languages with bolted on concurrency support had left me with limited problem solving skills for concurrent problems.

Erlang’s source is available and it should contain the implementation of register/2