12 Mar 2014, 20:10
Photo_17_pragsmall

Paolo Perrotta (49 posts)

A few hours after the public announcement, the book is already flying off the (virtual) shelves. I’m a happy author. Thank you, pragmatic readers!

What’s new in the second edition:

• Updated to the new features in Ruby 2.x, such as prepend and Refinements.
  • Rails has changed a lot. The Rails chapters in part 2 are almost a complete rewrite.
  • Most examples from real-life gems were showing their age. I replaced them with fresher examples from gems that are popular today.
  • Some readers loved the “story” involving Bill and the office. Some other readers hated it. In this edition, Bill is still there, but he pops up when the story calls for him instead of lurking on each and every page.
  • My ideas about how much metaprogramming is good/appropriate have changed in some cases. The new edition reflects that.
  • Finally, we reviewed the entire text, cover to cover, smoothing out dozens of small wrinkles.

Enjoy!

13 Mar 2014, 14:05
Generic-user-small

xinke li (2 posts)

Thank you for releasing the book

14 Mar 2014, 05:22
Hacker_pragsmall

Arda Karaduman (1 post)

Thank you for the book ! also, will there be a discount for first edition owners ?

15 Mar 2014, 11:10
Photo_17_pragsmall

xinke, Arda, you’re welcome!

Arda: yes, I see that the Prags are giving a discount coupon to owners of the first edition. Register your copy of the first edition with the Prags (if you didn’t buy from this site) and check your account. You should see your coupon there. At least, that’s what happened to me. ;)

31 Mar 2014, 23:49
Generic-user-small

Ernest Szulikowski (2 posts)

Hi,

Paolo, what is your estimate percentage of completion of B 1.0 release, comparing to planned final release.

Thanks.

10 Apr 2014, 09:54
Generic-user-small

Guru M (1 post)

Hi,