small medium large xlarge

Back to: All Forums  Arduino
Dennis_3_small_pragsmall
15 Feb 2011, 03:49
Dennis Martinez (2 posts)

Hi,

First off, let me thank you for writing this wonderful book. I studied electronics in high school (more than 12 years ago) but I never really followed up on it after my courses, so I really forgot a lot of what I learned. The Arduino - and this book - is reminding me why I studied electronics in the first place. I love it!

Anyway, I have a slight confusion regarding pushbuttons on the Arduino. I’m currently reading Chapter 3: Building Binary Dice. In the book, it specifies that when the button is unpressed, the default value is LOW. However, in my case, it’s the inverse - When the button is unpressed (connected exactly as specified in the book), I get a HIGH read, and when I press the button I get a LOW read. This is what Arduino’s Pushbutton tutorial (http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Pushbutton) says as well. When writing the code, if I change HIGH to LOW and vice versa, the sketch works properly when uploaded to the Arduino.

Am I connecting something incorrectly? Are there differences between pushbuttons? I’m just a little confused on this. Thanks!

Maik_schmidt_avatar2_pragsmall
15 Feb 2011, 16:18
Maik Schmidt (122 posts)

Hi Dennis!

First off, let me thank you for writing this wonderful book. I studied electronics in high school (more than 12 years ago) but I never really followed up on it after my courses, so I really forgot a lot of what I learned. The Arduino – and this book – is reminding me why I studied electronics in the first place. I love it!

Thank you very much! I am always glad to hear that! Oh, and I don’t mind if you share your opinion on Amazon :-)