small medium large xlarge

Back to: All Forums  Arduino
Generic-user-small
19 Mar 2012, 02:48
Lawrence Gill (9 posts)

I am new to Arduino and its programming language, so I am working my way through this book and learning things as I go. I have a question about the way the Arduino IDE displays the following code:

Telegraph::Telegraph(const int output_pin, const int dit_length) {
  _output_pin = output_pin;
  _dit_length = dit_length;
  _dah_length = dit_length * 3;
  pinMode(_output_pin, OUTPUT);
}

void Telegraph::output_code(const char* code) {
  for (int i = 0; i < strlen(code); i++) {
    if (code[i] == '.')
      dit();
    else
      dah();
  }
}

Here we see two instances of the word “Telegraph” followed by :: followed by a function name. In the lower instance, if I understand it correctly, the sketch is declaring the function named “output_code” which is in the class “Telegraph” using the void statement to indicate no data will be returned? And “void” gets colored orange in the Arduino IDE (version 0022).

In the upper instance I am thinking the function (or should I say “method”?)Telegraph of the class Telegraph is being declared. But the Arduino IDE colors this instance gray instead of orange. I am wondering what the gray color means, and whether or not I am correct in what I think those statements mean. The project works just fine for me, but I am trying to go along and place comments on most lines of all the code so I can gain a better understanding of what each line is doing in the whole sketch and the libraries it uses.

Thanks.

Maik_schmidt_avatar2_pragsmall
14 Mar 2011, 16:08
Maik Schmidt (122 posts)

Hi Lawrence!

Your interpretation of the code is absolutely right.

In C++ you specify a class member using a double colon, that is

void Telegraph::output_code(const char* code);

declares a method named output_code that belongs to the class Telegraph. Also output_code returns no value (void) and expects a character pointer (string).