small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
07 Oct 2009, 21:17
Bakari (4 posts)

I’m going to order the PDF copy of your book, but I’m wondering if you will be doing screencasts for some of more difficult parts of the book? I’m a complete novice when it comes to programming, but I’ve always wanted to learn. I don’t have the money or time to take college courses, so having multimedia resources might be very useful for readers like myself. Thanks.

Generic-user-small
08 Oct 2009, 16:12
Tim Isted (105 posts)

The book is designed primarily for complete novices so, yes, screencasts are definitely something that we are thinking about to accompany the book.

We would be interested to hear which parts of the book you think might benefit from having video demonstrations.

Generic-user-small
09 Oct 2009, 00:21
Bakari (4 posts)

I’m slowly working through the first few chapters. Following along with the instructions is pretty easy, but I think I will have to go back over some of the material to better understand the concepts.

One suggestion I would make is that somehow you highlight the instructional parts of the book so that it’s more clear that in those parts readers are to do something in the applications itself. I’m reading the PdF version of your book and I basically try to use the red underline tool to highlight the parts where you give instructions for adding or writing code. Otherwise, I might get kinda lost between you explaining a concept and then giving instructions.

I can’t suggest right now which parts of the book should be turned into screencasts, but I think for readers like myself, just hearing you explain the concepts of the language might help support what is read.

Quick question: is Objective-C sorta like AppleScript? That’s the only other computer language that I’ve tried to learn. I’ve dabbled with HTML, CSS, and Java, but Objective-C kinda reminds me of AppleScript for some reason.

Generic-user-small
09 Jan 2010, 18:27
Lyndon Williams (1 post)