small medium large xlarge

Back to: All Forums  PragPub
Generic-user-small
05 Jun 2013, 15:52
Jon Roberts (6 posts)

Just read ‘Keeping Rails on the Rails’ by Sam Ruby in the free magazine. He explains how example code in ‘Agile Web Development with Rails’ was regularly breaking because of changes to the underlying Rails code.

The solution is interesting, but it’s a chore, and would have to be repeated for other projects. This repetition and expense is caused by the volatility of Rails code. He has solved the problem for that particular book, but the same issue is faced by all other serious Rails apps.

I have posted up in a few forums over the years making the point that Rails would be more widely adopted if it would slow down a bit, stop changing things that already work pretty well.

This is an unpopular view !

I’ve been coding in C, Java and more lately ruby for 25 years. Most of my work has been in real life revenue earning projects. I was attracted to Rails because of its productivity, but have found that there are some very unproductive aspects that are rarely spoken of by the Rails community. Elephants in the room.

i) The amount of time we have to spend learning the newest way of doing something. A typical response is ‘you are too lazy/stupid to keep up, hard luck’, to which my response is ‘I have a life outside work, I would rather spend time with my kids than learning the 4th incarnation of Rails Routing’.

ii) The speed at which code is conceived, becomes part of Rails and is then abandoned. Causing application code in the layer above (eg code examples in the book) to be rewritten and sometimes new test code to be required.