small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
25 Jan 2010, 03:42
Michael Sync (1 post)

Hello,

Can I get the early edition of this book? Actually, I started learning Rails recently and think of buying 3rd edition of this book. but if you guys are going to release 4th edition soon, I want to get it the latest version..

Thanks, Michael Sync

93268d1500311c1447137de386a8053e_pragsmall
12 Feb 2010, 03:57
Nicolas Marchildon (3 posts)

According to a note David Heinemeier Hansson left on Twitter, “Beta book is not too far off”. I hope a paper version of the beta book will also be available. In the meantime, I might just go for the third edition and print the “list of changes for Rails 2.3 and Rails 3.

Samr_small_pragsmall
14 Apr 2010, 16:39
Sam Ruby (634 posts)

The beta is available now. A paper version is not yet available. We are waiting for Rails 3 to stabilize a bit more before that happens.

Noname_pragsmall
14 Apr 2010, 17:26
Melvin Ram (8 posts)

Sam, how much of the book has been updated? I’m having one of my web designers to start learning Rails because he wants to… and I want them to start with Rails 3. At the moment, is the book enough for them to learn Rails 3 or is it have a lot of gaps?

Samr_small_pragsmall
14 Apr 2010, 17:50
Sam Ruby (634 posts)

Melvin, the beta contains the content listed in the index through Task I. If you are familiar with previous editions of this book, this corresponds roughly to parts I and II as well as the appendix on Ruby. The current thinking is to pull two or maybe three chapters into part II (the chapter that we are not sure on is the one on Active Resource).

In my opinion, this is plenty for a good introduction/overview. But I might be a wee bit biased, so ask around.