small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
14 Mar 2012, 21:18
ILIAS (5 posts)

Hello all I’m new to android programming and I have a problem. I created a sudoku app with your source code. The thing is that I made a puzzle generator for my puzzles to make them infinite.Now here is my problem : To save your pre-defined puzzle we had to use :

getPreferences(MODE_PRIVATE).edit().putString(PREF_PUZZLE, toPuzzleString(puzzle)).commit();

In order to load the saved puzzle to make the Continue option to work we had to use :

puz = getPreferences(MODE_PRIVATE).getString(PREF_PUZZLE,easyPuzzle);

BUT this works for the predefined puzzle stored in a private final string called “easypuzzle” at the beggining of the game.class . My puzzle is generated and stored in a 1 dimentional array when user clicks New Game.As a result I’m trying to pass my generated puzzle as a reference(this is what I think) cause i tried to pass it like this :

getPreferences(MODE_PRIVATE).getString(PREF_PUZZLE,toPuzzleString(puzzle));

and when I close the game or just go back and try to Continue my game generates a new puzzle for me (or this is what I think it is doing) instead of loading the saved one.

Ps: Because my puzzle is stored in a 2 dimentional array I had to make a new method to convert it my array to a 1 dimentional array in order to make your toPuzzleString and fromPuzzle string work.

My method is:

private int[] to1dimarray(int old[][]) { int newarray[] = new int [81]; int newsize = 0; if (newsize < 80) { ` for (int x = 0; x < 9; x++) { for (int y = 0; y < 9; y++) { newarray[newsize] = game[x][y]; newsize = newsize + 1; } } } return newarray; }`</code> I know it’s not perfect but I’m new to android so forgive me.I have my generated and converted to 1 dimention array in
a variable and I wanna pass it somehow to :

puz = getPreferences(MODE_PRIVATE).getString(PREF_PUZZLE, xxxxxxxxxxxxx);