small medium large xlarge

Me_pragsmall
13 Jul 2011, 16:45
Dave Sanders (3 posts)

Most of what I know on Cuke is stuff I’m learned from the rspec book and then experience on a project that uses almost nothing but Cuke for BDD. Is this book geared more toward absolute beginners, or is there something for The RSpec Book readers?

One issue I’m having is that all of the steps I’ve written that interact with the page are derivatives from other stuff I’ve found - so I might not be doing things the best way. The other major issue is that the site I’m testing is extremely AJAX heavy and I’ve gone through several iterations and attempts at a good “Then wait for AJAX” steps, and each seem to have their flaws.

Are these things that this book is going to address in depth?

Now that I think about it, I almost would rather see a “Cucumber Recipes” book for more recipe style problem identification and solving. Plus it’d be a hoot to sit and watch the book store folks try to figure out where to shelve it… :)

I’ll probably pick this up anyway, but hoping that it will cover the above areas in great depth and example.

19 Jul 2011, 09:04
Matt Wynne (92 posts)

Hi Dave.

What we’ve tried to do in The Cucumber Book is go into much more depth than was possible in a few chapters on Cucumber in The RSpec Book.

The first part of the book is a tutorial which does assume the reader is a beginner. The feedback we’ve had so far is that even people who’ve been using Cucumber for a while have learned a lot from that first part: everything is explained in real depth. So I’d hope you’ll get something out of that part even though you’ve got a fair bit of experience.