small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
20 Nov 2007, 12:54
Keyton Weissinger (1 post)

OK. So I’m a noob in both Rails and Ruby – but I’m trying to migrate and approach the code from a Ruby perspective.

As such, in the Instant Gratification Fun Time section, I tried the following (to do a bit better in the “looks like Ruby” category than the example):

<% if @files %>
	<h1>Files or Directories 2</h1>
	<ul>
	  <%= @files.each {|file|}%>
	</ul>
	<% end %>

OK. No problem. That works. I get (or similar) in the resulting HTML: Files or Directories 2 appcomponentsconfigdbdocliblogpublicRakefileREADMEscripttesttmpvendor

But if I want to add a little markup:

<% if @files %>
	<ul>
	  <%= @files.each {|file| puts '<li>'+file+'</li><br/>'}%>
	</ul>
	<% end %>

I get the exact same thing in my resulting HTML page (i.e. no markup): Files or Directories 2 appcomponentsconfigdbdocliblogpublicRakefileREADMEscripttesttmpvendor

I’ve tried it in IRb to make sure the Ruby itself acts the way I think it should (and to make sure I wasn’t making a stupid Ruby mistake). But that worked fine.

What up?

Thanks in advance.

Keyton Weissinger

Generic-user-small
05 Jan 2008, 02:10
Don Bessinger (8 posts)

I’m in the same boat you are as far as learning both Ruby and Rails, and I played around with the same things to make nicer formats. It looks like you’ve tried to include HTML tags within the <% … %> brackets. Ruby expects everything in there to be Ruby code, so try moving the HTML tags out. Something like this may work:

<% if @files %>
  <ul>
    <li><%= @files.each {|file| puts file} %></li><br/>
  </ul>
<% end %>

That’s untested, but you get the idea - keep that Ruby and HTML separate.

Social-sq_pragsmall
05 Jan 2008, 03:57
Timothy Knight (5 posts)