small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
30 Jul 2008, 18:30
Lukas (7 posts)

I am not sure if this topic is in the right place here, or if I should have posted it in the discussions page for the new version of the book.

I have bought the version of the book written for Rails 1.2 about a year ago and finally got the time to dive into it. But after installing Rails 2.1 and working myself through the first few chapters I soon noticed that there have been some significant changes made in Rails 2. Still eager to learn Rails I am now trying to decide between the following options and hope that somebody will offer me some guidance to help me make a choice.

1) I continue with the book using this thread http://forums.pragprog.com/forums/22/topics/172 for help to workaround the differences between the book and Rails 2. Being a complete novice to Rails I would much prefer to avoid this option as it seems to me that I would end up trying to learn Rails 1 using Rails 2.

2) I downgrade Rails and follow the book, teaching myself the new version of Rails once I got a solid grasp of the materials. This option seems quite plausible to me ,but I am afraid that learning an outdated version will get me on the wrong track from the very beginning, making it difficult to learn Rails 2.

3) I buy the Beta (http://www.pragprog.com/titles/rails3/agile-web-development-with-rails-third-edition) of the Third edition of the book. Although for me this would have the advantage of receiving the print version once it is available I am unsure to what degree the current Beta version lends itself for a beginner to learn Rails.

In general, given that I like Rails (and from what I’ve seen so far, I do) I would definitely like to learn the new version sooner or later. I am just quite uncertain at the moment as to how to proceed.