small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
18 Jan 2016, 19:29
Nathan Hornby (5 posts)

I’m struggling to parse this function intended to be passed into the map accessor function get_in/2:

authors = [
  %{ name: "José",  language: "Elixir" },
  %{ name: "Matz",  language: "Ruby" },
  %{ name: "Larry", language: "Perl" }
]

languages_with_an_r = fn (:get, collection, next_fn) ->
   for row <- collection do
     if String.contains?(row.language, "r") do
       next_fn.(row)
     end
   end
end

IO.inspect get_in(authors, [languages_with_an_r, :name]) 
#=> [ "José", nil, "Larry" ] 

Namely the arguments in the anonymous function. I’m assuming that these macro functions (get_in/2 et.al) expect specific arguments in a function passed to them? It seems to be glossed over (unless I’m forgetting something from earlier in the book).

Firstly and most simply what does :get do in this context?

Secondly is anyone able to explain the whole next_fn thing to me? I’m new to the whole functional programming thing (and of course Elixir) so go easy, but this feels like somethings not fully explained?

Dave_gnome_head_isolated_pragsmall
18 Jan 2016, 19:50
Dave Thomas (389 posts)

Have a look at the documentation for get_in.

It will call a function you pass it with three parameters, The first is always :get, and the last is a function you should call to process the data you extracted.

Dave

Generic-user-small
18 Jan 2016, 21:20
Nathan Hornby (5 posts)

Thanks for the link Dave! That :get seems pretty arbitrary, doesn’t it?

I think I’m still not quite getting the role of next_fn. What does ‘invoked next’ mean in this context; invoked after what? Why’s it being called within the for loop? How’s that nil getting into that list (apposed to it only containing the values that match the if condition)?

I can see that the values that go into it are the one’s that end up in the list, but that’s all I got. Although I’d expect some kind of next_fn.(nil) in an else in that case…