small medium large xlarge

Generic-user-small
16 Feb 2010, 16:52
Paul Waterhouse (2 posts)

Hi All,

I have been reading “Agile Web Dev with Rails” for a couple of weeks now and I have worked through most of the Depot tutorial. I am enjoying learning something new and having never before worked with a framework I love the whole RoR philosophy but at this point in my learning I feel that i need to ask a question that Google doesn’t seem to have an answer for: Am I using the right tool for the job?

Let me explain a little about my situation. I am not a full-time developer, nor do I develop web apps for a living and I am not a ‘natural’ programmer so it generally takes me a while to get a new site out of the door. I develop apps for my own projects, some commercial and some personal. Right now I am developing a site that that advertises vacation rental properties. I have about 12,000 properties to list and they have around 40 possible criteria for searching and filtering so that the user may find the right properties for their needs.

I have been developing in Cold Fusion off-and-on for over 10 years and I know it reasonably well. My main reasons for trying out Rails for this project is as much for a change of scenery (and to broaden my horizons a little) as for any real practical reason. Having looked at many examples of Rails sites and following a few tutorials I am starting to get the feeling that the kind of site I am looking to develop isn’t the kind of site that Rails was designed for.