small medium large xlarge

Scottgardner 200x200_pragsmall
06 May 2008, 18:51
Scott Gardner (7 posts)

In the Note to beta book readers, you mention the possibility of completely removing this chapter, and ask for our feedback. Mine is: update it and keep it! This is valuable info for those of us needing to install or update our Ruby or Rails. Thanks

Generic-user-small
12 May 2008, 12:49
James West (104 posts)

Yes! Please keep it!

As a total newbie to web development(although not a newbie to desktop development) and ruby and Aptana and Rad Rails (Which is what I am using to get to grips with all this) I have found every single word totally helpful.

(apart from the mistakes that is lol :-))

James West

Samr_small_pragsmall
12 May 2008, 20:54
Sam Ruby (634 posts)

OK – the next beta will have this note removed and be updated slightly. In subsequent betas, I’ll look at expanding it even more.

M_v_shokhirev_pragsmall
18 Jun 2008, 04:39
Mikhail V. Shokhirev (a.k.a. Mike Shock) (19 posts)

I suggest a small but useful addition to the Chapter 3 “Installing Rails”: consider mentioning the Bitnami.org’s RubyStack installer. The reasons are: (1) its graphical install wizard is very simple for the beginners and convenient for advanced developers; (2) it is multi-platform (Linux, Mac x86, Mac PPC, Solaris x86, Solaris SPARC, Windows); (3) the developer installation includes almost all the necessary tools (Apache, ImageMagick, Mongrel, MySQL, Ruby, Rails, Rmagick, RubyGems, OpenSSL, phpMyAdmin (for MySQL), SQLite3, Subversion, zlib, …); (4) the production variant of the installation is optimized for speed & productivity; (5) it’s installed in one directory and doesn’t modify anything else in the system. I use it under Linux, Mac and Windows and I’m quite satisfied with it, indeed. To my opinion, it’s quite pragmatic and especially useful for developing and testing cross-platform applications as well as for unified training samples.

Serban_smile_engaged2_pragsmall