small medium large xlarge

Back to: All Forums  Core Data
Generic-user-small
27 Dec 2009, 01:09
Benoît Bourdon (1 post)

Hi, I’m curious and like to understand what happens behind Apple Code. I must say i’m a newbie in cocoa for mac. I have more experience in Cocoa Touch. So, if I say big mistakes, please correct me. My goal is to understand.

I post this message to understand this : “The accessors of attributes/relationships in Core Data are dynamically created at runtime.”

I understand the implication of that on the NSManagedObject implementation. All is well described in the book and in the apple doc http://developer.apple.com/mac/library/documentation/cocoa/conceptual/CoreData/Articles/cdAccessorMethods.html

But I would like to understand how Apple implements the accessor at runtime. So, the mechanism used to generate the accessor at runtime. I searched on google but i found nothing and I think it’s important to understand that to understand NSManagedObject mechanisms.

This is how I see the things and please correct me if I’m wrong : By using @@dynamic, the accessor is not implemented and will be created by code at the runtime. But, what’s the code? I think Apple uses Key Value Coding for that. Say for example, we have an attribute “name” and the core data code must read the name. Core data will use [self valueForKey:@”name”]

but the accessor -(NSString*)name {…} doesn’t exist because it’s dynamically created. So, - (id)valueForUndefinedKey:(NSString *)key will be called and will manage the data flow. Am I right or not?

Also, because the name attribute is dynamically created. There is no IVAR to store the value. So I suppose core data stores all the attributes values in a dictionnary when - (void)setValue:(id)value forUndefinedKey:(NSString *)key is called. Am I right?

27 Dec 2009, 17:03
Marcus S. Zarra (284 posts)